‘Tis the Season

ImageWhether it be repainting their birdhouses or making a scrapbook of a vacation around the holidays my parents always urge us to make something homemade for them rather than to go out and buy something.  My mom and I make chocolate covered pretzels and candy to give out to friends around the holidays, so this year I thought “why not make something for her and my dad?”  Here are two simple ideas for homemade gifts!

For my mom I dipped dried apricots in dark chocolate.  All you need to do is melt a small bag of dark chocolate morsels (8 oz.) in a double boiler or a microwave safe bowl and dip the apricots (2 dozen) in it.  Then let them cool and harden completely on wax paper.  Transfer to an airtight container or a gift tin.

For my dad I made a trail mix (yields 6 cups) of his favorite snacks.  I mixed one cup of each of the following ingredients: pretzels, banana chips, peanuts, peanut butter morsels, raisins, and Honey Chex cereal.  However, you can use your favorite ingredients. My favorite mix includes: pistachios, almonds, dark chocolate chunks, dried pineapple, raisins, and Honey Chex cereal.