Smitten Kitchen Quiche

ImageAside from writing my own blog, during my free time I love reading and searching for other food blogs for inspiration and new ideas.  Before I even considered starting my own blog I followed a number of food blogs; however, I was only recently introduced to the award winning blog: Smitten Kitchen.  Ever since discovering this blog I have been an avid follower.  The first post I saw when I visited this site was an amazing spinach quiche; I decided to try it out.  I modified the recipe based on what we had in our house.  Here is what I came up with:

ImageImage

Quiche Lorraine

Yields 6-8 servings

Ingredients

1 store bought piecrust (thawed)

3 eggs

1 c. of cottage cheese

1/3 c. of milk

1/3 c. of sharp cheddar cheese (optional: additional for topping)

1/3 c. of Parmesan cheese

8 oz. of frozen chopped spinach (thawed)

1 Tablespoon of olive oil

Salt and pepper to taste

Directions

Preheat your oven to 350º.  Grease and flour a 9-inch pie or tart pan. Roll out the store bought piecrust and fit to pie pan.  In a medium bowl crack the eggs and whisk until frothy.  Stir in cottage cheese and milk.  Then add in the cheese and spinach.  Pour the egg mixture into the lined pie dish. Sprinkle the additional cheese on top and drizzle with a teaspoon of olive oil.  This will help it brown in the oven.  Bake for 30 minutes until the egg mixture has cooked through and the top is golden brown.  Once you take it out of the oven, let it sit for a few minutes.  This will make it much easier to cut into.

Image

*I made this quiche over the weekend and I froze it once it cooled out of the oven.  I re-heated it later on in the week on a busy night and it worked out perfectly!