Warming Waffles

Image

Waffles are the perfect warm breakfast to wake up to on a chilly New England morning.  I decided to make a raspberry blood orange syrup to pour over them this morning.  Right now citrus fruits are in season so I have been trying to incorporate them into many of my meals, especially breakfast. 

ImageImageImage

This raspberry blood orange syrup is delicious over piping hot waffles with fresh berries and slivered almonds.  You can use your favorite waffle mix or make them from scratch.  I added the zest of the blood orange, 2 teaspoons of cinnamon and a dash of grated nutmeg to my waffle mix.

This syrup would also be perfect drizzled over vanilla Greek yogurt, ice cream/frozen yogurt, oatmeal, or a stack of pancakes.

Here’s how I made it:

Raspberry Blood Orange Syrup

Yields 6 Servings

Ingredients

1/2 cup of frozen or fresh raspberries (I used frozen – they are much less expensive and they taste the same in this syrup)

1 blood orange peel (I used the fresh segments cut up on top of my waffle)

2 Tablespoons of raspberry jelly (seeds or seedless depending on your preference)

1 Tablespoon of maple syrup

1/4 c. of water (you could also use the juice/segments of the blood orange instead if you didn’t want them on top of your waffle)

2 teaspoons of cornstarch

Directions

Combine all ingredients in a small saucepan.  Then place the pan on the stove over medium-low heat.  Cook until bubbling and slightly thickened.  Remove the blood orange peel (you can strain it if you don’t like the raspberry seeds).  Pour over your waffles while still warm.

Store in an airtight container or jam jar in the refrigerator.

Hope this breakfast warms you up!