Bread Pudding for Breakfast

ImageImage

I realize that bread pudding and French toast for breakfast doesn’t sound like the healthiest combination; however, it is not as indulgent as it sounds.  This dish happened by accident. I was originally planning on making a baked French toast casserole because we had lots of left-over stale bread. I decided to cube all of the bread and mix it in a French toast custard using almond milk.  I put it in the oven and hoped for the best.

When it came out I thought it might be a little soggy, but it wasn’t.  It came about a little bit like bread pudding.  If you are looking for a different breakfast, one that you can make ahead of time and serve all week, this dish is perfect.  I kept it in the refrigerator for a few days and my family scooped out individual servings for breakfast. 

I added raisins, orange, cinnamon and nutmeg for flavor but, you can add whatever flavors you like, maybe lemon and blueberries.  Also, you don’t have to use almond milk but it gives the French toast a lot more flavor than regular milk and it is a great vegan/lactose-free alternative.  Here is the recipe I used the other day. 

Image

Bread Pudding French Toast

Serves 6-8

Ingredients

6 1/2 cups of cubed stale bread (About 6-7 large slices of bread. You can use any type of bread. I used a combination of left-over ciabatta, wheat and cinnamon raisin.)

1/2 c. of raisins

5 large eggs

2 cups of almond milk

1 orange (zested, juiced)

2 teaspoons of vanilla

2 teaspoons of cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon of grated nutmeg

*Powdered sugar, maple syrup and fresh fruit for topping

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350º.

Place the stale bread cubes and raisins in a 9×11 casserole dish.  In a separate bowl, whisk together the almond milk, eggs, orange juice, orange zest, vanilla, cinnamon and nutmeg.  Pour the mixture over the bread and raisins.

Place it in the oven and bake it for 30 minutes. Serve with powdered sugar, maple syrup and fresh fruit.