Back to Blogging

IMG_0032IMG_0016

I’m back after being away from my blog for two weeks!  Preparing to graduate high school took on a full time job and I was incredibly busy. Now, however, I am done.  The last few days I have been unsure of what to do with myself.  I still don’t think the fact that I am done with high school has hit me yet.

I’ve been thinking a lot about the future of my blog lately and what I am planning to do with it.  I plan on continuing to write throughout my time at the Culinary Institute of America.  However, unlike my posts now, which vary from recipes, interviews to reviews, they will be more like a day in the life post. This summer I will still continue to write the variety of posts on my blog, but I am going to start adding  “day in the life” updates. 

Since graduation unfortunetly I haven’t done a lot of cooking.  We are still eating our way through the delicious leftovers from the Apollo Grill who catered my graduation party.  I am eager to use my new camera and Lamson chef knife, however!

My free time lately has not been spent in the kitchen surprisingly.  I have been spending time with my dog, saying goodbye to friends and reading outside (cooking books of course).  I usually struggle to read two books at once but I am really enjoying reading Kitchen Confidential by Anthony Bourdain and Tender to the Bone by Ruth Reichl. Both offer very different insights and perspectives into the food industry.

IMG_2615IMG_0033IMG_0031IMG_0015

IMG_0029

The past few days I have only had to feed myself for lunch.  I decided to make a summer salad using watermelon, cucumbers and feta.  The salty feta cheese compliments the sweet watermelon. I also finished it using some of the orange mint growing in my herb garden. It tastes like mint with a hint of citrus.  Make sure that if you want to grow any kind of mint that you confine it to a pot because it spreads like crazy! IMG_0019

IMG_0013IMG_0024IMG_0027

This salad is a great summer lunch or side dish for dinner. Here is the recipe to make it.

Feta Summer Salad

Yields 1 serving

Ingredients

1 cup of watermelon (cubed)

1/2 cup of English cucumber (sliced thinly in half)

1/4 cup of Feta cheese (cubed)

3 mint leaves (roughly chopped)

1 Tablespoon of balsamic vinegar

Salt and pepper to taste

Directions

Combine the watermelon, cucumber and feta cheese in a shallow bowl.  Dress with chopped mint and balsamic.  Salt and pepper to taste.