Lately

IMG_0174IMG_0180

Recently my mom’s side of the family came over for dinner to kick off the start of summer and celebrate being out of school. They were expecting burgers by the pool, however, my mom requested her favorite fish tacos.  I will never say no to a request for fish tacos because they are also one of my favorites.

For these fish tacos I used cod and I made a fresh corn relish to top the tacos with.  Every time I make fish tacos I try to choose the freshest white fish available and I vary the toppings based on what I have on hand.  If you want to make fish tacos similar to these, you can use this recipe from my blog as a guide. 

Unfortunately since making these tacos I have not had as much free time to devote to cooking as I would like, however, I am happy to be back to work.  I have learned so much about front of the house service in a restaurant through hostessing.

IMG_2845

One of the best things about where I work is watching the sunset over the mountain every night.

I thought I would share some of my favorite meals lately.

IMG_0125

Vanilla yogurt, homemade granola, and fresh fruit for breakfast.

IMG_2848

You’re never too old for a PB&J! Since I have to leave for work around 3:30 I never really know what too eat. It’s too late for lunch and too early for dinner, but I am always up for a PB&J.

I have been really enjoying Caesar Salads for lunch with fresh homemade croutons and grated Parmesan cheese.

I have been really enjoying Caesar Salads for lunch with fresh homemade croutons and grated Parmesan cheese.

IMG_0286

I made this ravioli pasta salad using frozen basil, pine nut and asiago raviolis. I made a simple olive oil, garlic and mustard vinaigrette and tossed it with sun-dried tomatoes, cherry tomatoes, corn, fresh basil, and Parmesan cheese.

IMG_2825

One of my family’s favorite dinners: fish tacos! Pan-fried cod marinated in Margarita mix, shredded Romaine lettuce, tomatoes, salsa, avocado, and a sweet corn relish in blue corn tortillas.