Life Along the Hudson

Overlooking the Hudson from the Vanderbilt property in Hyde Park....only about 5 minutes from the CIA campus

Overlooking the Hudson from the Vanderbilt property in Hyde Park….only about 5 minutes from the CIA campus

Last weekend my parents and brothers came up to visit me.  It was great to see them after being away for a month.  We spent the weekend eating at local restaurants and checking out events in Hyde Park and Rhinebeck.  I was excited to show them some of my new favorite places to eat on the weekends.

I had a great weekend with my family - it was a nice break from classes

I had a great weekend with my family – it was a nice break from classes.

It is so beautiful up here in the fall.
It is so beautiful up here in the fall.

Concord grapes at the Farmer's market.

Concord grapes at the Farmer’s market.

Foraged mushrooms at the farmer's market

Foraged mushrooms at the farmer’s market

Even though it is nearing the end of season for most produce the farmer's market was still plentiful with fresh fruits and veggies

Even though it is nearing the end of season for most produce, the farmer’s market was still plentiful with fresh fruits and veggies

Lots of winter squashes and apple this week

Lots of winter squashes and apples this week.

Greens and Asian pears

Greens and pears

Even though I probably could have spent all day at the Farmer's market, my brothers lost interest after about 20 minutes....so we went out for lunch

Even though I probably could have spent all day at the Farmer’s market, my brothers lost interest after about 20 minutes….so we went out for lunch.

I took them to Bread Alone for lunch.  I got a cappuccino, tomato vegetable soup, pumpkin seed roll (which was delicious but I forgot to take a picture!), and a roasted butternut squash salad
I took them to Bread Alone for lunch. I got a cappuccino, tomato vegetable soup, pumpkin seed roll (which was delicious but I forgot to take a picture!), and a roasted butternut squash salad.

Roasted butternut squash, kale, blue cheese, toasted pecans with a mustard vinaigrette.

Roasted butternut squash, kale, blue cheese, toasted pecans with a mustard vinaigrette.

I took them to my favorite new place to get gelato....I got passion fruit and stracciatella

I took them to my favorite place to get gelato, Artigiani del Gelato in Rhinebeck….I got passion fruit and stracciatella!

On our way back from lunch we stopped at a car show...

On our way back from lunch we stopped at a car show…

My brothers, dad and me

My brothers, dad and me

...we lost my brothers after about two minutes

…we lost my brothers after about two minutes

cars...

cars…

cars...

cars…

and more cars...

and more cars…

Market Street in Rhinebeck for dinner

After an afternoon full of cars I was ready to think about food again….for dinner we went to Market Street in Rhinebeck.

I liked that every plate on the table was different.

I liked that every plate on the table was different.

The focaccia bread was delicious

The focaccia bread was delicious!

Although this did not photograph that well it was awesome! Roasted Brussels sprouts and a unique take on an endive blue cheese salad.  Instead of the typical endive leaves stuffed with Gorgonzola the endive was shredded with apples and pears and mixed with toasted nuts and blue cheese.

Although this did not photograph that well it was awesome! Roasted Brussels sprouts and a unique take on an endive blue cheese salad. Instead of the typical endive leaves stuffed with Gorgonzola the endive was shredded with apples and pears and mixed with toasted nuts and blue cheese.

I loved this pizza...they made it in a wood oven so the crust was perfect.  It was topped with a fig spread, goat cheese, roasted pears, arugula and finished with truffle oil.

I loved this pizza…they made it in a wood oven so the crust was perfect. It was topped with a fig spread, goat cheese, roasted pears, arugula and finished with truffle oil….yum!

My mom got there homemade pumpkin ravioli

My mom got their homemade pumpkin ravioli….and everyone else dug in before I could snap a pic.  I don’t blame them though…we were hungry!

Second cappuccino of the day...why not?

Second cappuccino of the day…why not?

We also split this fantastic tiramiso

We also split this fantastic tiramisu for dessert.

They were so excited to spend there weekend with me...

They were so excited to spend their weekend with me…

On Sunday we found this cute olive oil and balsamic store in Rhinebeck.

On Sunday we found this cute olive oil and balsamic store in Rhinebeck.

There was small pieces of bread to sample some of their less traditional olive oils and balsamic flavors

There was small pieces of bread to sample some of their less traditional olive oils and balsamic flavors

IMG_2495

I really liked the passion fruit balsamic and red delicious apple balsamic

I really liked the passion fruit balsamic and red delicious apple balsamic.

There was one whole wall of balsamic vinegars (including white balsamic which is delicious!) and then another whole wall of olive oils with additional varieties in the middle of the shop

There was one whole wall of balsamic vinegars (including white balsamic, which is delicious!) and then another whole wall of olive oils along with additional varieties in the center of the shop

Lots of interesting salts to try as well... like truffle salt, rosemary salt, pink Himalayan salt, black Himalayan salt

Lots of interesting salts to try as well… like truffle salt, rosemary salt, pink Himalayan salt, black Himalayan salt….

Every chefs favorite ingredient...SALT

I’ve learned quickly that every chefs favorite ingredient is SALT!!!!

I can't wait to go back the next time im in Rhinebeck.  My mom also bought some fig balsamic, which i'm excited to try!

I can’t wait to go back the next time im in Rhinebeck. My mom also bought some pomegranate balsamic, which i’m excited to try!

After walking around my brothers we're getting hungry and the best way to feed to teenagers is with pizza!

After walking around my brothers we’re getting hungry and the best way to feed to them is pizza!

We found a little shop in Rhinebeck that makes wood oven pizzas.

We found a little shop in Rhinebeck that makes wood oven pizzas.

They served all of the drinks in vintage containers

They served all of the drinks in vintage containers

Even though I had pizza the night before I am always in the mood for good pizza!

Even though I had pizza the night before I am always in the mood for a good wood fired pizza!

Who doesn't need a little chocolate in the middle of the day?

Who doesn’t need a little chocolate in the middle of the day?

We stopped at Oliver Kita's Chocolate Shop in Rhinebeck.  He is a CIA grad.  All the chocolates in his store look like handcrafted pieces of glass - they are stunning.  The pictures do not do them justice.

We stopped at Oliver Kita’s Chocolate Shop in Rhinebeck. He is a CIA grad. All the chocolates in his store look like handcrafted pieces of glass – they are stunning. The pictures do not do them justice!

I love how his store is decorated!

I love how his store is decorated!

You can't go into a chocolate store and not try something! I guess you could say i'm on a passion fruit kick right now! I tried a dark chocolate truffle with a tart passion fruit filling.

You can’t go into a chocolate store and not try something! I guess you could say i’m on a passion fruit kick right now…I tried a dark chocolate truffle with a tart passion fruit filling.

On our way back to the CIA we stopped to walk around the Vanderbilt mansion.  We also drove through the Roosevelt estate but we didn't have enough time to walk around there.

On our way back to the CIA we stopped to walk around the Vanderbilt mansion. We also drove through the Roosevelt estate but we didn’t have enough time to walk around there.

I forgot how short I was next to them.

I forgot how short I was next to them.

It was a gorgeous fall day...

It was a gorgeous fall day…

Vanderbilt mansion

Vanderbilt mansion

Overlooking the Hudson

Overlooking the Hudson

Fall leaves

Fall trees and leaves

Front of the Vanderbilt

Front of the Vanderbilt

On the Vanderbilt property

On the Vanderbilt property

Can’t wait to see them again soon! Hopefully next time I will have the chance to cook them something!