Back from Break

Egg day in Fundamentals

Egg day in Fundamentals

Although the three week count down to winter break began immediately for most after we arrived back at school from Thanksgiving break, I could not be happier to be back on campus.  I had a fantastic holiday break with my family but I missed being at school.  I love the non-stop energy of being in the kitchen all day. This week we had one of the most exciting days of class so far, fresh pasta day, juxtaposed with one of the most challenging days in Culinary Fundamentals, the infamous Egg Day!

IMG_1724

When we got back from break the CIA's campus was decked out for all the winter holidays.

When we got back from break the CIA’s campus was decked out for all the winter holidays.

IMG_1728

It is always fun to cook in my own kitchen at home.  Although I did not cook very much over break.  I did make some chocolate chip cookies and some of my family's favorite comfort foods.

It is always fun to cook in my own kitchen at home. Although I did not cook very much over break. I did make some chocolate chip cookies and some of my family’s favorite comfort foods.

Baked Grogonzola macaroni and cheese, homemade apple sauce, pear salad, barbecue chicken and roasted Brussels sprouts.

My family was craving cold weather comfort food.  I made a baked Grogonzola macaroni and cheese, homemade apple sauce, pear salad, barbecue chicken and roasted Brussels sprouts.

Some family friends of ours brought use delicious ice cream from Mt. Tom's Ice Cream by my house.  Espresso Oreo and Burnt Sugar ice cream. Perfect with a cup of coffee!

Some family friends of ours brought us delicious ice cream from Mt. Tom’s Ice Cream by my house. Espresso Oreo and Burnt Sugar ice cream. Perfect with a cup of coffee for dessert!

Here are some photos from my classes this week!

Fresh pasta day!

Ingredients for fresh pasta day!

This was by far my favorite day of Fundamentals. My class had so much fun together making pasta.

This was by far my favorite day of Fundamentals. My class had so much fun together making pasta.

Each person was responsible for making a half pound of pasta. A quarter pound of dough went towards making duxelle ravioli and the other quarter pound went towards fettuccine.

Each person was responsible for making a half pound of pasta. A quarter pound of dough went towards making duxelle (mushrrom and shallots) ravioli and the other quarter pound went towards fettuccine.

Both pastas were tossed in a mushroom chasseur sauce made from tomato sacue, demi-glace, heavy cream, brandy and mushrooms.

Both pastas were tossed in a mushroom chasseur sauce made from tomato sacue, demi-glace, heavy cream, brandy and mushrooms.

Duxelle ravioli with the same mushroom chasseur sauce.

Duxelle ravioli with the same mushroom chasseur sauce.

Egg day was a major transition from pasta day.  As simple as it sounds, egg day presents itself as one of the most challenging days in Fundamentals.

Egg day was a major transition from pasta day! As simple as it sounds, egg day presents itself as one of the most challenging days in Fundamentals. Each egg must be presented hot, neither under-cooked or over-cooked, and no signs of browning. 

For egg day we had to make an eggs benedict, scrambled eggs, two custards (savory and sweet), hard-boiled eggs, and three fried eggs (over easy, over medium and over hard).

For egg day we had to make an eggs benedict (two poached eggs and hollandaise sauce), scrambled eggs, two custards (savory and sweet), hard-boiled eggs, and three fried eggs (over easy, over medium and over hard).

This week in product knowledge we focused on tomatoes, peppers and squash.

This week in product knowledge we focused on tomatoes, peppers and squash.

Since tomato season has past our samples were limited.

Lots of chili peppers!

Lots of chili peppers!

This is a tiny sample of ghost pepper chili...just this drop of sauce was enough to set my tongue on fire!

This is a tiny sample of ghost pepper chili…just this drop of sauce was enough to set my tongue on fire!

 

Live demo from our chef on cooking an Asian style eggplant. It was delicious.

Live demo from our chef on cooking an Asian style eggplant. It was delicious! Lots of ginger and garlic.

Sample plate: comparing pickling cucumbers to English hot-house cucumbers; bruschetta; roasted shishito pepper; chayote (a member of the summer squash family); and spaghetti squash

Sample plate: comparing pickling cucumbers to English hot-house cucumbers; bruschetta; roasted shishito pepper; chayote (a member of the summer squash family); and spaghetti squash

Bruschetta

Bruschetta

Thank you for continuing to read my blog! I have not been able to post as frequently because of my busy schedule here at school! Please continue to check in…I should have more posts up soon!