Happy Hollandaise

The holiday season is appropriately celebrated with food puns at the CIA.

The holiday season is appropriately celebrated with food puns at the CIA.

It was another memorable weekend at the CIA.  I didn’t have classes on Monday so I decided to take a trip into the city for food, shopping and the Rockette’s.  Here are some highlights from my weekened through pictures. 

Gelato affogato: crema gelato, hot chocolate sauce and espresso.

Gelato affogato: crema gelato, hot chocolate sauce and espresso.

Beautiful weekend in the Hudson Valley!

Overlooking the Hudson

Saturday morning I took some photos for Artigiani Del Gelato in Rhinebeck....lucky for my I got to sample what I was photographing.

Saturday morning I took some photos for Artigiani Del Gelato in Rhinebeck….lucky for me I got to sample what I was photographing.

Italian cookies

Italian cookies

Saturday afternoon it was so beautiful out I decided to got for a walk through the Vanderbilt property

Saturday afternoon it was so beautiful out I decided to go for a walk through the Vanderbilt property

Saturday night my friends and I decided to make pancakes for dinner.

Saturday night my friends and I decided to make pancakes for dinner.

Sunday I took our school's bus trip into the city with some friends to see the Rockette's!

Sunday I took our school’s bus trip into the city with some friends to see the Rockette’s!

The bus only took about an hour and a half from school.

The bus only took about an hour and a half from school.

Our first stop in the city was Thomas Keller's Bouchon Bakery.

Our first stop in the city was Thomas Keller’s Bouchon Bakery.

The beautiful pastry case in Bouchon.  I bought two macarons (caramel and pistachio) and a chocolate chip cookie.

The beautiful pastry case in Bouchon. I bought two macarons (caramel and pistachio) and a chocolate chip cookie.

I've heard from a number of sources how phenomenal the chocolate chip cookies at Bouchon are. It didn't quite believe it at first.  They appear to be straightforward, rather ordinary chocolate chip cookies but they are indeed exceptional.  Perfectly buttery and crisp on the outside with a soft, chewy inside. They are also very chocolatey - a variety of chocolate is used to make them.

I’ve heard from a number of sources how phenomenal the chocolate chip cookies at Bouchon are. When I first saw them I did not believe they would be much different from a regular chocolate chip cookie. They appear to be straightforward, ordinary chocolate chip cookies but they are indeed exceptional. Perfectly buttery and crisp on the outside with a soft, chewy inside. They are also very chocolatey – a variety of chocolate is used to make them.

Bouchon bakery is located near Rockefeller Center.

Bouchon bakery is located near Rockefeller Center.

Before the show we had fun looking at all the Christmas decorations and shopping.

Before the show we had fun looking at all the Christmas decorations and shopping.

We went to Waffles and Dinges in Bryant Park for their famous "soft and chewy" waffles with strawberries, chocolate sauce and whipped cream.

We went to Waffles and Dinges in Bryant Park for their famous “soft and chewy” waffles with strawberries, chocolate sauce and whipped cream.

IMG_1877

Before the show we went to Shake Shack! It was my first time eating at Shake Shack.  I was excited to try it out after reading the CEO Danny Meyer's book: Setting the Table.  His book discusses his business model for his Union Square Hospitality Group, which Shake Shack is a part of.

Before the show we went to Shake Shack! It was my first time eating at Shake Shack. I was excited to try it out after reading the CEO Danny Meyer’s book: Setting the Table. His book discusses his business model for his Union Square Hospitality Group, which includes Shake Shack.

The line for Shake Shack usually extends out the door and around the corner! There menu mainly consists of burgers, hot dogs, French fries and their famous frozen custards. Shake Shack aims to simplify fast food and offer products that use high-quality, wholesome ingredients at an affordable price.

The line for Shake Shack usually extends out the door and around the corner! Their menu mainly consists of burgers, hot dogs, French fries and their famous frozen custards. Shake Shack aims to simplify fast food and offer products that use high-quality, wholesome ingredients at an affordable price.

I got a fresh squeezed lemonade, 'Shroom burger (a vegetarian mushroom and cheese burger) and fries.

I got a fresh squeezed lemonade, ‘Shroom burger (a vegetarian mushroom and cheese burger) and fries.

IMG_1900

Lights in Rockefeller Center

Lights in Rockefeller Center

At the Christmas tree in Rockefeller Center

At the Christmas tree in Rockefeller Center

Radio City Music Hall

Radio City Music Hall

Inside Radio City

Inside Radio City

Going to the Rockette's has always been a family tradition for me so it felt strange not to be seeing it with them this year! I still had a fantastic time with my friends!

Going to the Rockette’s has always been a family tradition for me so it felt strange not to be seeing it with them this year! I still had a fantastic time with my friends!

The perfect ending to a day in the city was coming out to the first coating of snow!

The perfect ending to a day in the city was coming out to the first coating of snow!