Uptown Girl

Snowstorm in the city.

Snowstorm in the city.

My mom and me.

My mom and me in Rockefeller Center.

As a kid there was nothing I wanted more than to live in New York City when I grew up.  Eating endless plates of pasta at Carmine’s before a show. Begging my parents for an over priced bag of brightly colored M&Ms at their famous Times Square location. Strolling the cobblestone streets of Soho lined with designer stores and food trucks.  Bargaining for a knock-off bag after dark. People watching on the subway. Jamba Juice for breakfast….I just can’t get enough. I have always treasured the trips into the city with my parents to see a show and eat at exciting, new places.    

Needless to say I was thrilled that my mom and close family friends came up to visit me and venture into the city this past weekend.  My growing appreciation for the culinary industry and love of all things food has only made me more enthralled with the New York City.  If you are a serious foodie there is no better place to be!

Times Square

Times Square

My friend Anna and me in Rockefeller Center.

My friend Anna and me in Rockefeller Center.

Lunch at Bocuse. House-made spiced cranberry orange soda.

Before we left for the city I gave my friends a quick tour of the school.  We lucked out and were able to score a table at Bocuse for lunch.  I had one of their house-made sodas to start. It was spiced cranberry-orange.

For an amuse bouche they sent out potato leek soup shooters and  a piece of eggplant with braised venison and micro-greens (not pictured).

For an amuse bouche they sent out potato leek soup shooters and a piece of eggplant with braised venison and micro-greens (not pictured).

My entree was a warm farro and quinoa salad with baby vegetables, lemon grass puree and apricots.

My entree was a warm farro and quinoa salad with baby vegetables, lemon grass puree and apricots.

My mom ordered the sea scallops with squid ink, bok choy, grapes, and purple potato chips. I love this dish and definitely want to get it for my entree the next time I eat at Bocuse.

The braised beef short ribs with celeriac potato puree, parsnips and wild mushrooms.   I was not able to get a picture of everything we ordered, but my friends, mom and I also enjoyed the infamous truffle soup, braised cabbage stuffed with chestnuts and onions, and monkfish stew.

The braised beef short ribs with celeriac potato puree, parsnips and wild mushrooms.
I was not able to get a picture of everything we ordered, but my friends, mom and I also enjoyed the infamous truffle soup, braised cabbage stuffed with chestnuts and onions, and monkfish stew.

Deconstructed chocolate, hazelnut, and blood orange dessert.

Deconstructed chocolate, hazelnut, and blood orange dessert.

Lemon curd shortbread, basil puree, moshi, and coconut ice cream.

Lemon curd shortbread, basil puree, moshi, and coconut ice cream.

After leaving the CIA Saturday afternoon we headed into the city.  Later on Saturday night we went to Eataly to have dinner at the La Pizza & La Pasta restaurant.

After leaving the CIA Saturday afternoon we headed into the city. Later on Saturday night we went to Eataly to have dinner at the La Pizza & La Pasta restaurant.

The cheese counter at Eataly.

I could spend all day looking around Eataly! These cheeses, along with the majority of their products are imported directly from Italy.

Bread counter at Eataly.

The bread counter at Eataly.

Saturday night all of the restaurants were packed.  We had lots of time to walk around and sample food before our dinner.

Saturday night all of the restaurants were packed. We had lots of time to walk around and sample food before we could get a table.

The butcher counter in Eataly.

The butcher counter in Eataly.

The produce section of Eataly is beautiful.  They have a huge assortment of herbs, fruits and vegetables.

The produce section of Eataly is beautiful. They have a huge assortment of herbs, fruits and vegetables.

Fresh mozzarella with sea salt and olive oil.

Fresh mozzarella with sea salt and olive oil.

They serve warm in-house bread at their restaurants with fruity olive oil and balsamic.

They serve warm in-house bread at their restaurants with fruity olive oil and balsamic.

Vesuvio al Ragu di Salsiccia...pasta with sweet sausage, tomatoes, Parmesan, Pecorino and bitter greens.

Vesuvio al Ragu di Salsiccia…pasta with sweet sausage, tomatoes, Parmesan, Pecorino and bitter greens.

Tiramisu gelato for dessert!!

Tiramisu gelato for dessert!!

They next day we had a late start and got brunch at the Blue Fin near our hotel in Times Square.  They had delicious fresh pressed juice.  I had their raspberry orange juice.

They next day we had a late start and got brunch at the Blue Fin restaurant near our hotel in Times Square. They had delicious fresh pressed juice. I had their raspberry orange juice.

I was so excited to have pancakes! Ever since I came to the CIA pancakes have become my favorite comfort food.

I was so excited to have pancakes! Ever since I came to the CIA pancakes have become my go-to comfort food.

These were perfect blueberry pancakes - light and fluffy. They were also loaded with fresh blueberries and topped with fresh whipped cream, which made me so happy!

These were perfect blueberry pancakes – light and fluffy. They were also loaded with fresh blueberries and topped with fresh whipped cream, which made me so happy!

After brunch we went to Chelsea Market.  My mom and friends were generous to put up with my non-stop foodie stops.

After brunch we went to Chelsea Market. My mom and friends were generous to put up with my non-stop foodie requests throughout.

So many great places to check out for food in Chelsea Market.

So many great food places to check out in Chelsea Market….I couldn’t believe I had never been before!

We were so mad that we ate a huge brunch because there were so  many food places we wanted to try...I guess I will just have to go back.

I was sad that we ate such a huge brunch because there were so many incredible food places we wanted to try…I guess I will just have to go back!!

Amy's Bread

Amy’s Bread

Spices galore! It smelled amazing!

Spices galore! I’ve never seen anything like it before….It smelled amazing!

Loose tea

Loose tea in the center of Chelsea Market.

Fish store in Chelsea market.

Fish store in Chelsea market. This was particularly interesting to me because I am currently in fish class. All of the products were relevant to what I am currently learning about in school.

Roe and scallops

Roe and scallops

Octopus

Sushi counter

I can't wait to try some of these places the next time i'm in the city!

I can’t wait to try some of these places the next time I’m in the city!

Before we left Chelsea Market we got a gelato affogato for an afternoon pick me up!

Before we left Chelsea Market we got a gelato affogato for an afternoon pick me up! I got stracciatella (sweet cream with dark chocolate chips) gelato with chocolate covered espresso beans.

We continued the day of eating by stopping at Bouchon bakery in Rockefeller Center.

We continued the day of eating by stopping at Bouchon bakery in Rockefeller Center as we headed back towards Times Square.

My mom was impressed with their selection of macarons. They are her favorite.

I was so excited to go back to Bouchon Bakery and show my mom.  She loves macarons and was very impressed.

She got a raspberry white chocolate macaron.

She got a raspberry white chocolate macaron.

I couldn't resist a Bouchon chocolate chip cookie - they are the best!

I couldn’t resist a Bouchon chocolate chip cookie – they are the best!

We decided late afternoon to get rush tickets to see a show so we had to find a quick spot for dinner.  Shake Shack was right around the corner....it was packed as always!

We decided late afternoon to get rush tickets to see a show so we had to find a quick spot for dinner. Shake Shack was right around the corner….it was packed as always!

Shake Shack was a great, quick option for dinner and my mom has always been curious about it.  She has heard me rave about Danny Meyer's "Setting the Table"

Shake Shack was a great, quick option for dinner and my mom has always been curious about it. She has heard me rave about Danny Meyer’s “Setting the Table”

'Shroom burger, fries and fresh squeezed lemonade!

‘Shroom burger, fries and fresh squeezed lemonade!

I could not have been more excited to get tickets to see Cinderella on Broadway! It was incredible - everything I had hoped it to be.

I could not have been more excited to get tickets to see Cinderella on Broadway! It was incredible – everything I had hoped it to be.

The stage and set was stunning!

The stage and set was stunning!

Carly Rae Jepsen starred as Cinderella and Fran Drescher played the step mother.

Carly Rae Jepsen starred as Cinderella and Fran Drescher played the step mother.

Our weekend in the city ended Monday afternoon.  We started the day with brunch at Sarabeth's.

Our weekend in the city ended Monday afternoon. We started the day with brunch at Sarabeth’s.

IMG_4318

I couldn't stop thinking about the pancakes I had Sunday morning so I had to order the lemon ricotta pancakes with fresh strawberries and blackberries at Sarabeth's....not to mention they are also known for their pancakes.

Even though I had a stack of pancakes Sunday morning I had to get them again at Sarabeth’s…they are known for them after all! I ordered the lemon ricotta pancakes with fresh strawberries and blackberries…delicious!

IMG_4326

IMG_4327

Butternut squash soup and fresh bread at Le Pain Quotidien before heading back to school.

Butternut squash soup and fresh bread at Le Pain Quotidien before heading back to school.

I can’t wait to go into the city again sometime soon! 🙂 Stay posted for updates on my Seafood ID and Fabrication course.